“Hellish Hell for EKS”

 Worldwide Copyright: Colin McMaster/EKS/McKlein

Worldwide Copyright: Colin McMaster/EKS/McKlein

EKS Media Release 08/23/2015

It was an emotional return to Hell for EKS. 435 days ago, the action in the FIA World Rallycross Championship for the team began at the track near Trondheim. The reunion at round eight of this year’s campaign didn’t go as expected. During the entire weekend the lap times of Mattias Ekström and Anton Marklund were quite promising, but in the end, the journey was over for both Audi S1 EKS RX quattro in the semi finals. Ekström finished his action-packed last run in P4, Marklund struggled to progress to the final of the best six drivers with P5 in his semi.

““This time Hell was really hellish for us. Especially on Saturday we hadn’’t any luck in the races, not only because of the dust””, says Ekström. “”For the semi final the track was watered massively. Turn one was very slippery, I lost one position and a lot of mud was on my windscreen. Then I had a crash with Petter Solberg, a puncture on the front left and was hit by Timur Timerzyanov when he rolled. More action than I needed and not the finish I aimed for. But there are also positives: We are happy with our pace and improved the starts.””

Anton Marklund was closer than ever to reaching his first final in EKS colours. With P5 in the Intermediate Classification he secured a place in the second row of his semi final. “”I had a really good start, climbed up to P2, but at the end of lap one I went sideways and Robin Larsson passed me by knocking on my passenger door. In the joker lap I made a small mistake, which costs me the final. Below the line it was a good weekend for me, and I want to say thank you to the mechanics. They did a perfect job.””

There is no time to rest in World RX. In just two weeks round nine takes place in front of the massive crowd in Lohèac. More than 60,000 fans will join the track in the northwest of France.


Header Photo Credit: Worldwide Copyright – Colin McMaster/EKS/McKlein

“The PEUGEOT 208s in Heaven After One-Two Triumph in Hell!”

PHOTO :  @tWorld Team Peugeot-Hansen


Peugeot Sport Press Release -08/23/2015

Team Peugeot Hansen is sure to remember Round 8 of the 2015 FIA World Rallycross Championship for years to come after it secured the first one-two result in world rallycross history today in Norway. Read more

MARIO BONFANTE: “Differently Abled”

 No Pedal. No Wheel. No Problem 


DF exterior


Like any serious athlete, a race car driver needs skill, knowledge, determination, and most of all, a passion for their craft. A race car driver who is determined to do whatever it takes to get to the top of their chosen discipline will live, eat, and breath racing. They will go through the process of securing sponsors, putting a crew together, and driving miles going from track to track. They will sleep in their tow vehicle, trailer, or race car in order to save a few dollars to put toward their race career. Most say the sacrifice is worth it in order to live their dreams and reach their goals. It is a rare mold reserved for the creation of the best.



Photo by Rallycross360

Rallycross360 recently headed out to DirtFish Rally School in Snoqualmie, Washington where we had the pleasure of talking with a man named Mario Bonfante who fits this mold. Like many other racecar drivers, he works hard and sacrifices much in hopes of making his dreams a reality.  But, what makes Mario so different from other racers is that he is a quadriplegic. Read more

Red Bull GRC Pit Reporter Gets Schooled: Kristen Kenney Puts Herself Behind the Wheel

Photo by Larry Chen


Many rallycross fans recognize her as the lovely and energetic pit reporter who stands out as a blonde breath of fresh air among the dirt, grit and testosterone of the paddock at Red Bull Global Rallycross events.  Others may recognize her as the beautiful host of the new hit reality show, Altered Course, on the Golf Channel.  No matter where fans might recognize her from one thing is obvious, Kristen Kenney is serious about her work, Read more




(Press Release London, August 2015)


Australia’s most successful rally driver Chris ‘ATKO’ Atkinson teams up with Roots Management International to explore opportunities in the growing FIA World Rallycross Championship.

Chris “Atko” Atkinson stormed onto the World Rally Championship scene in 2004 by finishing 5th overall in his privately run, less powerful Group N Subaru Impreza at his home event, Telstra Rally Australia.

This extraordinary result against the world’s best manufacturer teams immediately opened doors for the Queenslander as the Subaru World Rally Team snapped him up for their 2005 WRC campaign.

Since 2005, Atko has played a pivotal role in the Subaru World Rally Team alongside World Champion Petter Solberg, before signing with the Monster World Rally Team to rally alongside ‘Head-Hoonigan’ Ken Block in Mexico in 2012, where Atkinson proceeded to take the first ever stage win for the Monster World Rally Team, as well as creating history by becoming the first ever Australian to land a full-time Manufacturer drive in the FIA World Rally Championship.

He’s now set his eyes on FIA World Rallycross, a Championship organized by the FIA in conjunction with the series promoter IMG who developed the (ERC) European Rallycross Championship into a sanctioned FIA World Championship in 2013. Providing spectacular action and already hugely successful, currently encompassing 13 rounds in 12 countries across 4 continents, IMG have big plans to add several more new locations in key markets over the next few years.

World Rallycross (World RX) currently has some of the world’s most skilled drivers looking to enter the sport, keen to race the 600bhp 4wd machines on the short, sharp mixed surface circuits which make the races so very unique and exciting for fans at the track or the millions following the action LIVE on TV.


With ex-team mates Petter Solberg (current defending World RX Champion) and Ken Block already involved, Atko knows who he’s up against, and is looking to add a considerable amount of wins to his already impressive racing career.

Atko comments, “I think the WorldRX concept is great! I’ve always thought Rallycross was a really sweet format and you can see that now with the way the FIA World Rallycross Championship is growing. Manufacturers are coming into it and it’s evolving to the stage where it’s becoming a lot more professional. WRC cars are incredible but these Rallycross cars are pretty much double the power of a WRC car. Everyone who’s driven one says it just blows your mind – you know, 0-100km/h in 1.8-2.0sec, anytime you’re doing that, it’s impressive. Racing would be crazy fun, you’re basically in a weapon with eight other lunatics hoping you come out of the first corner… not backwards! I can’t wait to explore opportunities with the Roots team and get on the grid for 2016.”

Ian Bergin, Sponsorship and Rights Management at Roots, adds, “I’m really excited about working with Atko and seeing him behind the wheel of a World RX car. I have been around the paddock since IMG took over RX and have seen the sport grow at an unbelievable rate under their management. It’s awesome that more WRC drivers are seeing the opportunities within the World RX paddock and we’re very happy that Atko chose to work with ROOTS. It will be a busy winter talking with teams and interested partners but our focus is to be ready for 2016.” 

For more information and/or sponsorship enquiries, please contact ian.bergin@rootsltd.com.  




Facebook IconTwitter IconSee us on PinterestSee us on Pinterest